GWKB2012 : How to Change Window-Eyes Settings for the Login Screen

Product: Window-Eyes
Author: Jeremy Curry
Date Added: 03/14/2012
Last Modified: 03/27/2012

How to Change Window-Eyes Settings for the Login Screen

Note: The following steps apply when using Windows Vista or above.

When at the login screen, Window-Eyes uses a different profile than it does after you login to your computer.  Since it is using an entirely different profile, you may hear a different synthesizer, different rate, different pitch, or any other number of settings.  To learn more about profiles, read the Knowledge Base article found at http://www.gwmicro.com/Support/Knowledge_Base/?kbnumber=GWKB1124

The login screen is designed by Microsoft to be secure as to not allow unintended access to an account.  Due to this security, Window-Eyes must be run as an administrator to be able to make changes to the profile used by Window-Eyes at the login screen.  By making changes to this profile, you can adjust settings such as the synthesizer or other changes that adhere to your personal taste.

The first step you need to take is to run Window-Eyes as an administrator.  To do this, perform the following steps:

1. Press Windows Key-D to focus the Desktop
2. Press W until you hear Window-Eyes.  This will focus the Window-Eyes icon.
3. Press Control-Insert-F4 to close Window-Eyes.
4. A Dialog will appear asking if you want to close Window-Eyes.  Press Enter, which will activate the OK button.
5. Focus should then be on your Desktop with the Window-Eyes icon focused.  You can press Windows Key-M to ensure focus is on the Desktop. Press the Context menu button or Shift-F10 to open the context menu of the Window-Eyes icon.
6. Press A which will activate the Run as administrator menu item. Depending on your computer setup, you may need to press Enter after pressing A.
7. You will hear a "donk" sound. This indicates that the User Account Control appears on the screen. If using Vista, press Alt-C to activate the Continue button. If using Windows 7 or above, press Alt-Y to activate the Yes button.

Window-Eyes will then launch and you will be able to adjust settings for the All Users profile.  The All Users profile is the profile used at the login screen.  When you launch Window-Eyes after login, you are using the profile called Default.  Although you have launched Window-Eyes as administrator, you are still using the Default profile.  Thus, the next step you need to take is to set the active profile to All Users.  To do this, perform the following steps:

1. Press Control-Backslash to open the Window-Eyes Control Panel
2. Press Alt-H to open the Help menu.
3. Down Arrow to Show Advanced Options.
4. If Show Advanced Options is not checked, press Enter. If you already have Show Advanced Options checked, press Escape until you are out of the Help menu.
5. In the Settings tree view, press P until you hear "Profiles."
6. Press the Right Arrow to open the node.
7. Press the Down Arrow to navigate to Set Active Profile.
8. Press Tab to navigate to the Available Profiles list view.
9. Press A until you hear, "All Users."
10. Press Tab until you are on the Activate button.
11. Press Space to click the Activate button.

You may hear Window-Eyes say "Installing default apps, please wait" followed by several tones. In a few seconds, you will hear Window-Eyes using the settings that it uses for the login screen.  The Quick Start Wizard will also start, enabling you to make changes easily.  Proceed to adjust the settings to your personal preferences that you would like to hear at the login screen.  Once you have changed the settings to your preference, press Control-S to save the settings.

You may now close Window-Eyes by pressing Control-Insert-F4.  Press Enter on the OK button to shut down Window-Eyes.  After Window-Eyes has closed, press Control-Alt-W to start Window-Eyes.  This will start Window-Eyes as usual; that is, not as administrator.  You will then be back to using the Default user profile.  The next time you are at the login screen, you will hear Window-Eyes using all of the settings you set while using the All Users profile.  You can make changes to the All Users profile again at any time by retaking the steps outlined in this article.